Human Rights Commission

The Human Rights Commission Wants to Hear from City Residents and Visitors on the State of Human Rights in Northampton.Image of HRC Press Release Opens in new window

Dignity and Civility Pledge Poster

Results from the HRC Sponsored Community Conversations on Human Rights,   December 10-13, 2018

Excerpt from the Mayor's Administrative Code:

Human Rights Commission


There shall be a human rights commission consisting of nine members. Membership shall, as far as it is practicable, be selected so as to ensure representation from those classes protected under state and federal law, including but not limited to, race, color, religious creed, national origin, sex, age, disability, veteran status, ancestry, sexual orientation or public benefit status.

Authorities and Responsibilities

The human rights commission shall act to promote human rights in the city of Northampton. The commission shall advocate and be an information resource for the rights guaranteed pursuant to local, state, and/or federal law on the basis of race or color, gender, physical or mental ability, religion, socio-economic status, ethnic or national origin, sexual identification or orientation, or age for all persons within the city of Northampton. The mayor and city council may refer issues pertaining to human rights to the commission for review and recommendation. The commission may organize programs and events to educate about human rights.

The Human Rights Commission is an advisory multiple-member body of the city.


Generally meetings are held:

  1. 5:30 p.m.
  2. The fourth Wednesday of each month
  3. Puchalski Municipal Building, 212 Main Street, Council Chambers


Commissioners are community volunteers appointed by the Mayor with confirmation by the City Council. Anyone residing in Northampton may apply. The commission can have as many as nine members.

  • Nural Mohammed
    Term ends, June 2020
  • Karen Belleavance- Grace- Co-Chair
    Term ends June 2022
  • Davina Miller 
    Term ends June 2022
  • Laurie Loisel                     Co-Chair                        Term ends June 2020
  • Booker Bush
    Term ends June 2020
  • Rachel Maiore                          Term ends June 2022
  • Megan Paik                              Term ends June 2022

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes