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What is a 
Personal 
Property Tax 
Exemption?

 This presentation will cover personal property tax 
exemptions that can result in a reduction in property 
taxes due to a particular personal circumstance and 
qualifications set forth in the Massachusetts General 
Laws.  

 Personal exemptions require:
 The taxpayer must show he or she meets the terms 

of the exemption.
 Exemptions are granted for one fiscal year only and 

the taxpayer must file an application with the 
Assessor every year.



Application 
Guidelines for 
Personal 
Exemptions:

 Qualification Date:  July 1st – Taxpayers must meet all 
qualifications for personal exemption or deferrals as of July 1st of 
the fiscal year for which the exemption is being sought.

 City Fiscal Years are:  July 1st – June 30

 All personal exemption and deferral applications are:
 Due on April 1st

 Must be filed annually
 Not open to public inspection

 The Assessors must keep a record book listing the exemptions and 
deferrals that have been granted and this is a public record.  This 
includes the property owners name and the amount of the 
exemption.  However, all supporting financial information and 
documents for the application are confidential and not available to 
the public. 



Requirements 
for Personal 
Exemptions: 

 Ownership – Applicant must own the property
 For some exemptions and deferrals, the applicant 

must also have owned the property or other 
property in Massachusetts for a number of years.

 Domicile – Applicant must live in the property
 For some exemptions and deferrals, the applicant 

must also have lived in the property or other 
property in Massachusetts for a number of years.

 Status – Applicant must be a certain age, a veteran, a 
blind person, a surviving spouse or meet other personal 
circumstances

 Proof – Applicant must document eligibility  



Ownership 
Examples: 



Ownership 
Examples: 



Domicile 
Requirements:



Proof 
Requirements:



Local Property Tax 
Exemptions
There are personal property tax exemptions.  Since only one of these exemptions 
is allowed per year, you may choose the one that provides the maximum benefit 
for you:

Clause 41C :  Seniors

Clause 17D:   Seniors or Surviving Spouse

Clause 42 & 43: Surviving Spouses or Minor Children of 

Firefighters or Police Officers killed in the 

line of duty  

Clause 22A:  Veterans

Clause 37A:  Blind Persons 



Clause 41C

Filing Deadline 
April 1st

EXEMPTION AMOUNT

For Fiscal Year 2020
July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

$650 $1,000

EXEMPTION AMOUNT

For Fiscal Year 2021
July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021



Clause 41C

Filing Deadline 
April 1st

AGE REQUIREMENT

For Fiscal Year 2020
July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

 You must be 70 years of 
age or older on July 1, 
2019 

 You must be 65 years of 
age or older on July 1, 
2020

AGE REQUIREMENT

For Fiscal Year 2021
July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021



Clause 41C
Filing Deadline 
April 1st

Note:  If your home is held in trust, 
you must provide a copy of both the 
trust schedule of beneficiaries 
showing that you are a trustee and 
have a beneficial interest.  Both the 
trust and schedule of beneficiaries 
must be recorded at the Registry of 
Deeds.

If you are a joint owner with a non-
spouse or your home is a multi-unit 
dwelling, contact the Assessor’s 
Office for more information.  

OWNERSHIP 
REQUIREMENT

For Fiscal Year 2020
July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

 Massachusetts must 
have been your state of 
primary residence for 
the past ten years as of 
July 1, 2019.
 You must have owned 

and occupied your 
current home for the 
past five years as of July 
1, 2019.

 Massachusetts must 
have been your state of 
primary residence for 
the past ten years as of 
July 1, 2020.
 You must have owned 

and occupied your 
current home for the 
past five years as of July 
1, 2020.

OWNERSHIP 
REQUIREMENT

For Fiscal Year 2021
July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021



Clause 41C
Filing Deadline 
April 1st

Note:  Income limits include the 
allowable portion of other income 
from  Social Security, Railroad 
retirement, or federal, 
Massachusetts or local government 
employee pensions or retirement 
plans.

For Fiscal Year 2020:
single $4,758
married $7,137  

INCOME 
THRESHOLDS

For Fiscal Year 2020
July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

 Calendar 2019 income is 
used to calculate your 
eligibility

 Single:  $18,000 + $4,758 
for SS = $22,758

 Married:  $20,000 + 
$7,137 for SS = $27,137

 Calendar 2020 income is 
used to calculate your 
eligibility
 Single:  $20,000 + $4,758 

for SS = $24,758
 Married:  $30,000 + 

$7,137 for SS = $37,137
 These income amounts will be slightly 

higher for FY2021 after the state 
determines the allowable pension or SSI 
amount for FY2021.

INCOME 
THRESHOLDS

For Fiscal Year 2021
July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021



Clause 41C
Filing Deadline 
April 1st

Note:  Whole Estate includes 
total of all savings accounts, 
checking accounts, certificates of 
deposit, IRA accounts, stocks 
and bonds.

Note:  Your primary residence, 
personal effects, motor vehicles 
and cemetery plots are not 
counted or included. 

ASSET LIMITS

For Fiscal Year 2020
July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

Single:  $28,000
Married:  $30,000

Single:  $40,000
Married:  $55,000

ASSET LIMITS

For Fiscal Year 2021
July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021



Clause 17D
Filing Deadline 
April 1st

 Age requirement –You must be 70 years or older 
on or before July 1st of the Fiscal Year in which you 
are seeking the exemption. For FY2020 – July 1, 
2019, for FY2021 – July 1, 2021.
 You may also qualify if you are a surviving spouse 

who has not remarried or you are a minor child 
with one parent deceased.
 For seniors, your home must have been owned and 

occupied as your primary residence for the past 
five years. There is no waiting period for an 
applicant who is a surviving spouse or minor child 
with a parent deceased. 
 There is no income limit.  
 Value of your whole estate, but not including your 

primary residence, must not exceed $40,000. 

If your income is too 
high for the 41C 
exemption but you 
have low assets, you 
may qualify for a 
$175 reduction in 
your property tax.  



Clause 17D
Filing Deadline 
April 1st



Clauses 42 
& 43
Filing 
Deadline
April 1st



Clauses 22 
& 22 A-F
Veterans

All exemptions are based on 
veteran’s status as of the 
first day of the fiscal year for 
which the exemption is 
being sought. 

A wide range of exemptions are available 
to veterans of the armed forces who have 
suffered a service connected disability of 
not less than 10% or a veteran who 
received a U.S. Military decoration award.  

While these are not specifically for seniors, 
they are presented briefly here to acquaint 
seniors, who may also be veterans, with 
options since property owners may only 
qualify for one of the exemptions and 
should use the most beneficial exemption.  



Veterans: 
Clause 22
$400

 Veterans with a service connected disability of 10% or more.

 Veterans of certain pre-World War I conflicts.

 Veterans awarded the decoration Purple Heart with no disability

 Spouses (when property is owned by the spouse, not veteran) and 
surviving spouses of Clause 22 a-c veterans who remain unmarried 
or a soldier/sailor who died serving in certain 22(b) pre-World War I 
conflicts.

 Gold Star Parents of soldiers or sailors who lost their lives in 
service.  Natural, adopting and parents who stood in loco parentis 
for one year prior to the time that the deceased entered service 
qualify.  To establish status as in loco parentis, affidavits are 
required. 

 Surviving spouses of World War I veterans whose whole estate, 
less mortgage balance on the property does not exceed $20,000. 



Veterans: 
Clause 22A
$750

 Veterans and their spouses by reason of injury received or disease 
contracted in such service or in the line of duty, lost or have 
suffered permanent loss of use of one foot, or one hand, or loss of 
sight of one eye. 

 Prisoner of War (POW)

 Veteran recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor, The 
Distinguished Service Cross, the Air Force Cross, or the Navy 
Cross.

 Benefit continues for surviving spouses who remain an owner and 
occupant. 



Veterans: 
Clause 22B
$1,250

Clause 22C
$1,500

Clause 22B:

 Veterans and their spouses who suffered in the line of duty the 
loss or permanent loss of use of both feet, both hands or both 
eyes.

 Benefit continues for surviving spouses who remain an owner 
occupant.  

Clause 22C:

 Veterans and their spouses who suffered total disability in the line 
of duty and who have received assistance in acquiring “specially 
adapted housing” which they own and occupy as their domicile.

 Benefit continues for surviving spouses who remain an owner 
occupant.  



Veterans: 
Clause 22D
100%

Clause 22E
$1,000

Clause 22F
100%

Clause 22D:

 Surviving spouses (who remain unmarried) of soldiers, sailors, guardsmen and 
veterans who during active duty, regardless of when, had suffered an injury or 
illness which was a proximate cause of death or became missing in action with 
a presumptive finding of death. Remarriage ends this exemption. 

Clause 22E:

 Veterans who as a result of disability contract in such service and in the line of 
duty have a rating of 100% combined service evaluation, or considered totally 
and permanently disabled.  Annual certificate from the VA required.

 Benefit continues for surviving spouses who remain an owner and occupant.  
Spouse not required to obtain VA certificate annually. Remarriage does not 
end this exemption. 

Clause 22F:

 Paraplegic veterans by reason of injury received in such service and in the 
line of duty or have disability rating of 100% for service-connected 
blindness.

 Benefit continues for surviving spouses who remain an owner and occupant. 
Remarriage does not end this exemption. 



Clauses 22 
& 22 A-F
Veterans .  



Blind 
Persons:
Clause 37A

$500

 You must be legally blind and obtain a Registered Certificate from 
the Massachusetts Commission for the Blind or a letter from your 
doctor indicating blind status of the first day of the fiscal year for 
which you are seeking the exemption and you must submit that 
certificate every year.

 You must own and occupy a property in Northampton as your 
primary residence.  



These are the personal property tax exemptions.  Since only one 
of these exemptions is allowed per year, you may choose the one 
that provides the maximum benefit for you:

Clause 41C :  Seniors
Clause 17D:   Seniors or Surviving Spouse
Clause 42 & 42: Surviving Spouses or Minor Children of 

Firefighters or Police Officers killed in the 
line of duty  

Clause 22A:   Veterans
Clause 37A:  Blind Persons 

REVIEW:
Local 
Property Tax  
Exemptions



Personal 
Exemptions: 
Multiple 
Owner 
Exemptions



Personal 
Exemptions: 
Multiple 
Owner 
Exemptions



Other Property Tax 
Relief Programs 
Administered by the 
Assessors

Property Tax Deferrals and the Community 
Preservation Fund 3% Surcharge 



Senior 
Property 
Tax 
Deferral:
Clause 41A

Let the equity in your 
house pay your property 
tax 

AGE 
REQUIREMENT

 You or your spouse 
must be 65 or older 
on July 1st of the 
fiscal year for which 
the deferral is being 
sought.

BENEFIT 

 Payment of any or all of your property 
tax can be postponed until the home is 
sold, conveyed, transferred to a trust, 
you or your surviving spouse die, or until 
you choose to pay off the deferral.

 You can never be forced to move or sell 
your home under this program.

 Use any single property tax exemptions 
for which you qualify first and then 
defer all or part of the rest of your 
property tax.

 The fixed interest rates for FY2020 
deferrals is 5% simple interest.  



Senior 
Property 
Tax 
Deferral:
Clause 41A

Let the value of your 
house pay your property 
tax 

INCOME AND 
ASSET LIMITS

 Currently up to 
$20,000 gross 
income, married or 
single is based on the 
prior Calendar Year 
income. 

 Legislation filed by 
the Mayor and under 
consideration by City 
Council proposes 
raising that gross 
income limit to 
$53,200. 

 No asset restrictions.

OWNERSHIP AND RESIDENCY 

 Massachusetts must have been your state 
of primary residence for the past ten years 
as of July 1st of the fiscal year for which the 
deferral is being sought. 

 You must have owned and occupied your 
current home for the past five years as of 
July 1st of the fiscal year for which the 
deferral is being sought.

 Every other person with any legal or 
beneficial interest in the property must 
give written approval for the deferral (such 
as co-owners, banks that hold a mortgage, 
home equity loan, second mortgage, etc.) 
via a Tax Deferral and Recovery 
Agreement.



Senior 
Property 
Tax 
Deferral:
Clause 41A

Let the value of your 
house pay your property 
tax 

FILING 
DEADLINE

 The filing deadline is 
April 1st of the fiscal 
year for which the 
deferral is being 
sought.  

OTHER LIMITS

 Property taxes can be deferred to a 
maximum cumulative total of 50% of 
the value of your home – many decades 
of potential deferral.  

 Upon the death of you and your 
surviving spouse, or upon the transfer or 
sale of the home’s ownership, the 
annual interest rate on the amounts 
owed will increase to 16% until repaid.  



Senior 
Property 
Tax 
Deferral:
Clause 41A

Let the value of your 
house pay your property 
tax 

 The deferral application process includes the following:
 A written agreement with the Assessors
 Prior written approval by joint owners and 

mortgagees
 Recording notice of agreement at the Registry of 

Deeds to secure the lien on the property for 
deferred taxes
 Repayment of deferred taxes, plus 5% interest is 

required when the property is sold or the taxpayer 
dies.  



LOCAL 
OPTION 
EXEMPTION:

 The first $100,000 of taxable value of residential real estate is 
already automatically exempted from the calculation prior to bills 
being issued.  This is the residential exemption. 

 An applicant that meets certain income limits, who owns and 
occupies the property as of January 1st, may qualify for the Low 
Income or the Low or Moderate Income Senior Exemption.  

 To qualify as a senior, you must be 60 or older as of January 1st for 
the fiscal year in which the exemption is being sought.  

 There is no asset limit. 
 Owners must meet a household annual income standard for the 

low income or the moderate income senior exemptions to be 
granted. 

 A qualified taxpayer receives an exemption of the entire CPA 
surcharge attributable to the real estate tax assessed, regardless 
of the ownership share or number of residential dwelling units.

 Application Deadline is April 1st.  Taxpayers must file annually for 
this exemption.   

Community 
Preservation 
Fund 3% 
Surcharge 



LOCAL 
OPTION 
EXEMPTION:

Community 
Preservation 
Fund 3% 
Surcharge

 Household income includes 
the income of all owners and 
all members of the 
household 18 years or older 
who are not full-time 
students, less deductions for 
dependents other than a 
spouse and certain medical 
expenses. 

 Income must be at or below 
the allowable income limit 
for the household type.  The 
income limits are based on 
the Department of Housing 
and Urban Development’s 
area-wide median income 
and low income limits.  

 Income is based on the prior 
year calendar income.  
Example:  Calendar 2018 
income is used for calculating 
the FY2020 exemption.

 Income limits are updated 
each year.



LOCAL 
OPTION 
EXEMPTION:

Upon application and determination of 
eligibility for the Community 
Preservation Fund 3% Surcharge 
exemption this automatically triggers a 
review of applications submitted by 
seniors for a Clause 41C exemption.  In 
those cases where no further information 
is needed to establish eligibility for the 
exemption, the Assessors may grant a 
Clause 41C exemption without requiring 
a separate application.

Community 
Preservation 
Fund 3% 
Surcharge 



LOCAL 
OPTION 
EXEMPTION:

Eligibility for the Community 
Preservation Fund 3% Surcharge 
exemption also automatically
provides the following reductions (no 
application required):

Your storm water bill for the property is 
reduced automatically by 50%.
Your water meter fee for the property is 

eliminated automatically for water 
customers. 

Community 
Preservation 
Fund 3% 
Surcharge 



Other Property Tax 
Relief Programs 
Administered by Other 
City Departments
Senior Work-Off  and Veterans Work-
Off Programs



Senior Tax 
Work-Off 
Program:

Administered 
by the Senior 
Services 
Department 

INCOME 
GUIDELINES 

 Income guidelines 
are based on the 
State Median Income 
Guidelines.

 Tax returns for 
calendar year 2018  
will be used to 
determine eligibility 
for participation in 
calendar year 2020.

INCOME ELIGIBILITY

Senior Work-Off Program Eligibility for 
Calendar Year 2020

HOUSEHOLD 
SIZE MAXIMUM INCOME

1 $53,200 
2 $60,800 
3 $68,400 
4 $76,000 
5 $82,080 
6 $88,160 



Senior Tax 
Work-Off 
Program:

Administered 
by the Senior 
Services 
Department 

HOW IT WORKS: 

Seniors work for various city departments and 
receive an abatement on their tax bill at the 
end of the service period.

Seniors receive an hourly rate equivalent to the 
state minimum wage ($12.75/hr for 2020) (MGL 
S.59, s. 5K).

Maximum number of hours for calendar year 
2020 is 117 hours.

Maximum abatement is $1,500 per fiscal year –
only one tax credit per household is allowed 
each year.



Senior Tax 
Work-Off 
Program:

Administered 
by the Senior 
Services 
Department 

HOW IT WORKS: 

Money earned through the Work-Off Program, 
is reportable income for federal taxes only.  
Participants will receive a W-2 for the amount 
of money earned through the program.

Seniors must be 60 years of age or older as of 
January 1st for the calendar year program.

All hours of work must be completed by the 
participant.  No other person can work on the 
senior’s behalf to fulfill the hours.

Seniors must own and occupy the property as 
their principal residence.



Senior Tax 
Work-Off 
Program:

Administered 
by the Senior 
Services 
Department 

HOW IT WORKS: 

Seniors must posses and identify employable 
skills.

A complete application and income verification 
is required annually.

Seniors may be required to undergo a CORI 
check or provide references for certain 
assignments.

Seniors must be interviewed for job placement 
by the Northampton Senior Services staff and 
may be required to be interviewed by the 
Department Head of the department in which 
they may be assigned.



Senior Tax 
Work-Off 
Program:

Administered 
by the Senior 
Services 
Department 

HOW IT WORKS: 

 Individuals will be chosen based on the best 
match between the applicant’s qualifications 
and the skill requirements of each job.

There is a two week probationary period to 
assess the appropriateness of the placement.

Program participants may not work for 
relatives who are City employees.

Participants may re-apply each year. However, 
a lottery system may be used if there are more 
applicants than available positions. 



Senior Tax 
Work-Off 
Program:

Administered 
by the Senior 
Services 
Department 

APPLICATION TIMELINES: 

Applications are made available in early 
December.

Applications and supporting financial 
information for the coming calendar year are 
due by mid-December.

Program participants are notified in early 
January regarding interviews and assignments.

The number of hours the participant works 
determines the amount of the abatement for 
which their property tax bill will be credited.  
Credits are applied on the third and fourth 
quarter tax bills immediately following the 
close of the calendar year.  



Veterans Tax 
Work-Off 
Program:

Administered by 
the Veterans 
Department 

The Veterans Tax Work-Off Program works 
essentially the same as the Senior Tax Work-Off 
Program except for the following:

There are no income limits 

There are no age limits

Applications are submitted to the Veterans 
Office and interviews and placements are 
conducted by Veterans Department staff. 



MASSACHUSETSS
SENIOR CIRCUIT 
BREAKER TAX CREDIT
Administered by the Commonwealth 
of Massachusetts



State 
Senior 
Circuit 
Breaker Tax 
Credit:

Administered by the 
Commonwealth 

AGE AND INCOME LIMITS

 Must be 65 years of age at 
the close of the tax year.

 Income: 
 $60,000 for single 

individual
 $75,000 for head of 

household
 $90,000 if married and 

filing jointly

 Income guidelines are revised 
each year.

BENEFIT – MAXIMUM 
$1,300 PER YEAR

 Homeowners – One dollar for 
every dollar that your 
property tax plus half of your 
water and sewer bill exceeds 
10% of your income.

 Renters – One dollar for every 
dollar that 25% of your rent 
exceeds 10% of your income.  
Rent must be unsubsidized 
and landlord must be a tax-
paying entity.



State 
Senior 
Circuit 
Breaker Tax 
Credit:

Administered by the 
Commonwealth 

HOUSE VALUE/ASSETS

 Assessed value of house 
must be $808,000 or less.

 No other asset limits.

OWNERSHIP AND 
RESIDENCY

 Special provisions are made 
for certain assisted living 
arrangements and for certain 
types of trust ownership.

 Your Massachusetts house or 
apartment must be your 
primary residence.



State 
Senior 
Circuit 
Breaker Tax 
Credit:

Administered by the 
Commonwealth 

APPLICATION

 Homeowners or renters who are eligible for this tax credit 
should claim the credit when they file their state income tax 
return.

 If you are eligible but do not normally file a state income tax 
return, you may obtain the benefit by filing a return and 
claiming the exemption.

 Past returns may be amended up to 3 years.



We are 
available to 
help you 
navigate the 
various 
programs 
either online 
or in person

For applications and deadlines for the following exemptions, please contact the 
Assessor’s Office at 413-587-1023 or visit their office on the first floor of City Hall.  
Online information is available at:  
https://www.northamptonma.gov/1343/Personal-Statutory-Exemptions

 Clause 41C for Seniors

 Clause 17D for Seniors, Widow or Widower, Minor Children

 Clauses 22A-F for Veterans

 Clause 37A for Blind Persons

 Clause 41A Senior Tax Deferral

 Community Preservation Fund Surcharge 

For applications and deadlines for the Senior Tax Work-Off Program, please 
contact Senior Services Department staff at 413-587-1232.  Online information is 
available at: https://www.northamptonma.gov/2066/Senior-Tax-Work-Off-
Program

For applications and deadlines for the Veterans Tax Work-Off Program, please 
contact Veterans Services Department staff at 413-587-1082. Online information 
is available at: https://www.northamptonma.gov/1455/Veteran-Property-Tax-
Work-Off-Program

https://www.northamptonma.gov/1343/Personal-Statutory-Exemptions
https://www.northamptonma.gov/2066/Senior-Tax-Work-Off-Program
https://www.northamptonma.gov/1455/Veteran-Property-Tax-Work-Off-Program
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