Services & Fees

Services & Fees Authorized under Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 262, Section 34

These fees are established in accordance with the Northampton Administrative Code Section 1.07

 Effective March 1, 2019

  • For filing and indexing assignment for the benefit of creditors - $10
  • For filing attachment and dissolution of attachment of bulky personal property - $10
  • For entering amendment of a record of the birth of a child born out of wedlock subsequently legitimized - $60
  • For correcting errors in a record of a birth - $60
  • For furnishing certificate of a birth - $15
  • For entering delayed record of birth - $60
  • For filing certificate of a person conducting business under any title other than his/her real name - $50
  • Business certificate change - For filing a statement of change of his/her residence, or of his/her discontinuance, retirement, or withdrawal from, or change of location of, such business - $25
  • Certified copies of business filings - $10
  • For furnishing certified copy of certificate of person conducting business under any title other than his/her real name or a statement by such person of his/her discontinuance, retirement or withdrawal from such business - $10
  • For correcting errors in a record of death - $60
  • For furnishing a certificate of death - $15
  • For entering notice of intention of marriage and issuing certificate thereof - $40
  • For issuing replacement unexpired certificate of marriage  - $20
  • For entering certificate of marriage filed by persons married out of the Commonwealth - $40
  • For issuing a certificate of marriage - $15
  • For correcting errors in a record of a marriage - $60
  • For recording power of attorney - $20
  • For recording the name of the owner of a certificate of registration as a physician or osteopath in the commonwealth - $10
  • For recording order granting locations of poles, piers, abutments, or conduits; alterations or transfers thereof; an increase in number of wires, cable or attachments under Sec. 22 of Chap. 166 - $50 per pole
  • Increase in number of wires and cable or attachments - $25 per pole
  • For examining records or papers relating to birth, marriage or deaths upon the application of any person, the actual expense thereof, but not less than - $10
  • For copying any manuscript or record pertaining to a birth, marriage or death, per page - $10
  • For receiving and filing a complete inventory of all items to be included in a "closing out sale," etc. First page - $10
    Each additional page - $3  (Click Here for pdf form)
  • For filing a copy of written instrument or declaration of trust by trustees of an association or trust, or any amendment thereof as provided by Sec. 2, Chapter 182 - $10
  • For recording deed of lot or plot in a public cemetery - $10
  • Certification of any Document/Instrument/Paper - $10
  • Burial Permits - $35
    As of August, 2009 responsibility of issuing permit is the City Clerk's Office

Certain Other Fees Collected by City Clerk's Office

  • Dog Licenses (beginning with licenses issued for 2019)
    • Neutered Male and spayed female dogs - $10
    • Unneutered male and unspayed female dogs - $20
    • Transfer licenses from another Massachusetts community - $5
    • Administrative late charge for failure to obtain required license - $20, beginning June 1st (owner must pay back license fee for any year that dog is unlicensed)
  • Redemption of impounded dogs -
    • Pickup fee- First retrieval within calendar year $15;
    • Second retrieval within calendar year $30;
    • Subsequent retrieval within calendar year $60
    • Administrative Fee - $15
    • Identification Fee - $5
    • Care and Keeping - $7 per day or portion thereof
    • Care and keeping subsequent to 24 hours after owner/keeper has been notified of dog's impoundment - $10 per day or portion thereof.
  • Kennel License
    • Category A - 4 or fewer dogs $75
    • Category B - more than 4 but fewer than 10 dogs $150
    • Category C - 10 dogs or more $250
    • Administrative late charge for failure to obtain license - $20