Energy & Sustainability Commission

  • 4 - 5:30 p.m.
  • The second Thursday of every month
  • View the city calendar for location
Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes


The 11 member body is comprised of the director, designee from three city departments, the building commissioner with two designee city councilors appointed by the city council president, a representative of Smith Vocational High School selected by the Smith Vocational High School Superintendent, and four members of the public appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the city council.
  • Mary Biddle, Director of Professional Development, Regional Organization Promoting Sustainable Energy Solutions, Resident

  • Bryan Bruce, Resident
  • William (Bill) Dwight, City Council President 
  • Wayne Feiden, Director of Planning and Sustainability 
  • Louis Hasbrouck, Building Commissioner
  • Edward Huntley, Director of Public Works
  • Adin Maynard, Commission Chair, HERS Rater, Resident 
  • David Pomerantz,  Director of Central Services 
  • Scott Silver, Director of Project Development, Energy Services Company, Resident
  • Paul Spector, City Councilor
  • Tim Smith, Facilities Manager, Smith Vocational and Agricultural High School
  • Chris Mason, Energy and Sustainability Officer, Ex-officio Non-voting Member
  • Kristina Hodges, Non-voting Associate Members

About the Board
On June 19 2008, the City Council enacted the Energy and Sustainability Commission to:
"... assist and ensure that the city identify, develop, implement, and manage programs and policies that achieve high levels of energy efficiency and energy resource sustainability and guard against effects of energy resource disruption / depletion and climate change in all of Northampton’s public and private sectors consistent with the goals of the Sustainable Northampton plan, the city’s climate change protection commitments, and other city plans / goals."
Interest in Serving an Associate Member
The commission anticipates that it will need associate members to serve on sub-committees working on specific mandates. If you are interested in serving on the commission as an associate member, please contact the Energy and Sustainability Officer or the Mayor's Office.
Renewable Energy for You
Buy green electricity through GreenUp for a more sustainable Northampton.