Public Records Requests

In July 2016, Governor Baker signed a bill, Chapter 121 of the Acts of 2016, "An Act to Improve Public Records", making changes to the existing Public Records Law. Changes to the law took effect on January 1, 2017.

One notable change in the law requires cities and towns to designate a Records Access Officer. The Records Access Officer (RAO) is responsible for receiving, tracking and responding to public records requests. 

The City Clerk serves as the City of Northampton's central Records Access Officer:

City Clerk’s Office  
Wendy Mazza, City Clerk
210 Main Street Northampton, MA 01060
(413) 587-1224
cclerk@northamptonma.gov

___________________________________________________________________

For department specific Records Access Officers see below. If you do not see the department you need listed, then submit your request to the City Clerk (see above):

Mayor's Office
Lyn Simmons, Chief of Staff
210 Main Street, Northampton, MA 01060
(413) 587-1067
lsimmons@northamptonma.gov

City Council
Pam Powers, Administrative Assistant to the City Council
210 Main Street, Northampton, MA 01060
(413) 587-1210
ppowers@northamptonma.gov 

Finance Division (Office of the Assessor, Office of the Auditor, and Office of the Treasurer/Collector)
Susan Wright, Finance Director
210 Main Street, Northampton, MA 01060
(413) 587-1255
swright@northamptonma.gov

Department of Public Works 
Donna LaScaleia, Director 
125 Locust Street, Northampton, MA 01060 
(413) 587-1570 
dlascaleia@northamptonma.gov 

Fire Rescue Department
Jon Davine, Assistant Fire Chief
26 Carlon Drive, Northampton, MA 01060
(413) 587-1039
jdavine@northamptonma.gov

Police Department
Jane Lawnicki, Supervisor of Records
29 Center Street, Northampton, MA 01060
(413) 587-1100
jlawnicki@northamptonma.gov

Northampton Public Schools  
Laura Judd, School Committee Clerk 
212 Main Street, Northampton, MA 01060 
(413) 587-1331 
ljudd@northampton-k12.us

Smith Vocational & Agricultural High School
Rebecca Wanczyk, Director of Student Services
80 Locust Street, Northampton, MA 01060
(413) 587-1414
rwanczyk@smithtec.org



Public Record 
Request Form


Form image

Use of this form is not required to submit a public records request. 

Fees



  • The first two hours of work performed to respond to a public records request will be performed at no cost. After that, the city may charge up to $25/hour. 
  • If fees are being assessed, a records access officer shall provide a written, itemized, good faith estimate of any fees that may be charged to produce the records prior to complying with a public records request within ten business days. 
  • The charge for black and white paper copies or printouts of records of any size susceptible to ordinary means of production shall not exceed $.05 per page, for both single and double-sided black and white copies or printouts. 
  • The records access officer shall not assess a copying fee for electronic copies or copies transmitted via facsimile. However, the actual cost of a storage device may be assessed.